Rob Law Max Recruitment
ClubRugby Home National Story Archive
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington
Stories 1 to 10 (of 154) | Next 10 Stories >
Aisle be back: Hurricanes v Blues
It’s sometimes hard to keep up with the news pouring out of Canesland. Who else was gobsmacked that King Carlos is coming as assistant coach? And as one rugby writer laid it out, outgoing coach Chris Boyd was on the outer and “sour”. On whether he should have been enticed into staying on another year, it’s moot. Yes, Boyd’s reign has delivered our first ever championship and he’ll be a legend forever for that. But the idea of keeping the same management team in place ad infinitum doesn’t always pay dividends...More
Aisle be back:Hurricanes v Sunwolves
We’re now officially in the down trou part of the season. That’s where teams manage to drop a match they should never drop. Usually, at this point it’s the Chiefs who do this, while the Highlanders grind out narrow wins to remain in touch. It doesn’t typically happen to the Crusaders, and the Canes make a point of getting their humiliation out of the way first up, and always overseas. The Blues, of course, are way past that now, having actually no longer any trousers of any description and not even a trip to K Mart scheduled to buy some more...More
Hurricanes pull clear of determined Sunwolves
Above: Vince Aso dives over to score his second try of the night for the Hurricanes. The Hurricanes have come away with 5 competition points after they defeated a determined Sunwolves team 43-15 in Wellington on Friday night. It was by no means the best performance from the home side as the Sunwolves applied early pressure and came up with the first try within ten minutes, Captain Pieter Lappies Labuschagne crossing over to give his team the lead. The Hurricanes managed to respond shortly after when skilful hands from Vince Aso led to Julian Savea levelling the score for the Hurricanes...More
Hurricanes late wins  10 of the best
Recapping some of the memorable late wins or wins after the hooter by the Hurricanes throughout the history of Super Rugby. 1997 Hurricanes 37 - Gauteng Lions 35, Johannesburg The Hurricanes encountered a Lions team unbeaten at home at Ellis Park in their first four matches of the year, having beaten Free State, the Highlanders, Brumbies and Waratahs. The Hurricanes made a flying start, piling on 19 points in as many minutes before the Lions came back and grabbed the lead with 10 minutes remaining...More
The perils of octopus wrestling
In his 2015 book “Fox Tossing, Octopus Wrestling and Other Forgotten Sports”, Edward Brooke-Hitching refers to a group of sports, now forgotten, which dwindled and gradually died owing to “the enormous amount of personal risk involved”. The appeal of pastimes such as balloon-jumping, waterfall-riding and firework-boxing lay in their element of danger and voyeuristic spectator appeal. New Zealand was not immune to this spirit of “derring-do”. In 1899, “Captain Lorraine” (David Mahoney), a young Aucklander, proved himself a man of nerve in undertaking a balloon ascent from the Basin Reserve, and (from an estimated height of 2,000 feet), an exciting and graceful descent by means of a parachute into the grounds of Wellington College, after initially plummeting toward earth for several hundred feet, “like a rocket-stick”...More
Aisle be back: Hurricanes v Bulls
Where are you Phil Kearns? Your country may not need you but the Hurricanes do. We need your fat jokes. Your unfit jokes. Anything will do to rub salt into the wound. Yes, what to make of the 21-19 opening loss at Pretoria. Well, for one thing, the hurricane is clearly not a weather system designed for high altitude. We saw that in Joberg last year. Surprising that a team, even so, at the start of the season should run out of gas but so it seems. It was by no means a down trou of Canberra proportions, so it was good to see Chris Boyd rank it where he saw it...More
Canterbury legend Crockett to bring curtain down on career
Talisman Cantrerbury, Crusaders prop Wyatt Crockett has announced his retirement from international rugby with this year also to be his last season of Super Rugby with the Crusaders. The hugely-popular 35-year-old prop, who made his professional rugby debut in 2006, is the most capped Super Rugby player of all time and ran out for his 13th Super season and in his 188th Crusaders match on Saturday in their opening match against the Chiefs. He played his 71st and final Test for the All Blacks against Wales in the last Test of 2017...More
Cards influencing Super Rugby results
The alarming proliferation of cards in Super Rugby is showing no signs of abating. There were 49 more cards in Super Rugby last year than what they were in 2016. In the first full round of 2018, there were 10 cards in seven games and in four of those games the cards had a massive bearing on the final result. In fact of the 439 points scored across all matches last weekend, 149 or a third were scored when one side was undermanned. The only match which featured no cards was the entertaining and competitive tussle between the Brumbies and Sunwolves...More
Ngarohi McGarvey Black new cap in All Black Sevens
All Blacks Sevens Coach Clark Laidlaw has named the squad to travel to the HSBC USA and Canada Sevens next month. Bay of Plenty’s Ngarohi McGarvey Black is the only newcomer, while Dylan Collier, Trael Joass and Andrew Knewstubb all return from injury. The squad is (*indicates new cap): Dylan CollierScott CurrySam DicksonTrael JoassAndrew KnewstubbVilimoni KoroiNgarohi McGarvey Black*Tim MikkelsonSione MoliaEtene Nanai-SeturoJoe RavouvouRegan WareJoe Webber Laidlaw said having a fully fit squad to pick from made for some tough decisions...More
Teams from far and wide competing at Central 7s tournament
Last year's Hawke's Bay 7s tournament was a wet one, but the forecast this weekend is fine and warm and the rugby should be hotter. A total of 31 teams from several provinces throughout the lower North Island are set to descend on Waipukurau tomorrow for the 35th Paladin Sports Hawke’s Bay 7s tournament. The tournament, hosted by the Central Rugby and Sports Club, features 15 Men’s, nine Colts and seven Women’s sides each vying to take home the spoils. Napier Pirates will be back to defend to their Men’s title, but new champions are set to be crowned in 2018 in both the Colts and Women’s grade, with four-time Colts defending champions Petone from Wellington not participating and three-time winners Feilding Old Boys-Oroua from Manawatu missing from the Women’s line-up...More
© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login