Rob Law Max Recruitment
ClubRugby Home National Story
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington

International Schools rugby today

Club Rugby | 02 October 2017 | Club Rugby

   International Schools rugby today

The New Zealand Schools team, New Zealand Barbarians Schools team and the Wellington U18s are all in action today in a bumper day for schools rugby.

The day starts at 1.00pm at Jerry Collins Stadium at Porirua Park when the Wellington U18s play the Tongan Schools outfit. The Tongan Schools went down 19-33 to the NZ Schools Barbarians on Thursday but dominated for long periods, while the Wellington side has been selected from the Wellington Samoans, Wellington Centurions and Wellington Catholic Colleges teams that have been playing in the recent Hurricanes U18 Development competition.

At 2.00pm at the Sport and Rugby Institute, the New Zealand Barbarians Schools play the New Zealand Maori U18s, selected from a wide range of school sides throughout the country.

The New Zealand Schools side had a comprehensive win over the Fijian Schools late last week, but face a sterner test against the Australian Schools Barbarians team today in Syndey at 4.00pm. The match is live on the internet at

New Zealand Schools' coach Jason Holland has rung in the changes for their second match in Sydney.

The New Zealand Schools' team will meet Australian Schools' Barbarians with only five players remaining in the starting line up that beat Fiji Schools' 54-7.

Holland said wholesale changes are to ensure all players see game time in the three-match campaign.

"We have good depth in our squad so we're confident these players will continue where we left off against Fiji.

"We did some good things on attack and defence on Thursday, the focus will be on the breakdown. If we can get quick ball I think we'll be hard to contain so we need to focus on the tempo of the game," said Holland.

Quinn Tupaea will again captain the team from the midfield, he along with Tupou Vaa'i, Devan Flanders, Leicester Faingaanuku and Etene Nanai retain their starting positions.

The New Zealand Schools side is:
1. Fatongia Paea (Sacred Heart College)
2. Shilo Klein (St Andrew’s College)
3. George Dyer (St Paul's Collegiate)
4. Cullen Grace (Timaru Boys' High School)
5. Tupou Vaa’I (Wesley College)
6. Quade Tapsell (Gisborne Boys' High School)
7. Josh Southall (St Patrick's College – Silverstream)
8. Devan Flanders (Hastings Boys' High School)
9. Humphrey Sheild (Napier Boys' High School)
10. Lincoln McClutchie (Hastings Boys' High School)
11. Leicester Faingaanuku (Nelson College)
12. Quinn Tupaea (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
13. Isaiah Punivai (Christs College)
14. Etene Nanai (St Kentigern College)
15. Danny Toala (Hastings Boys' High School)
16. Abraham Pole (Otago Boys' High School)
17. Tamaiti Williams (St Kentigern College)
18. Josiah Tavita-Metcalfe (Hastings Boys' High School)
19. Charles Alaimalo (Hamilton Boys' High School)
20. Jeriah Mua (Hastings Boys' High School)
21. Taufa Funaki (Sacred Heart College)
22. Rivez Reihana (St Kentigern College)
23. Tauterangimarie Kapea (Hamilton Boys' High School)

New Zealand Schools Barbarians side is:
1. Oliver Norris (St Peter’s College, Cambridge)
2. Tane Te Aho (Hamilton Boys’ High School) - captain
3. Patrick Thacker (Christ’s College)
4. James Thompson (St Peter’s College, Cambridge)
5. Taine Plumtree (Wellington College)
6. Joshua Bokser (Napier Boys’ High School)
7. Taine Te Whata (Otago Boys’ High School) - vice captain
8. Tovo Faleafa (Auckland Grammar School)
9. Louie Chapman (Christchurch Boys’ High School) – vice captain
10. Fergus Burke (St Paul’s Collegiate)
11. James Stratton (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
12. Kienan Higgins (St Patrick’s College – Silverstream)
13. Josiah Maraku (Feilding High School)
14. Siave Seti (St John’s College)
15. Rico Syme (Christchurch Boys’ High School)
16. David Meki (Rosmini College)
17. Ethan McQuinlan (Feilding High School)
18. Saula Mau (Auckland Grammar School)
19. Samipeni Finau (St Peter’s College, Cambridge)
20. Simon Parker (Otamatea College)
21. Luke Donaldson (St Paul’s Collegiate)
22. TJ Ane (De La Salle College)
23. Kaleb Talamahina (Southland Boys’ High School)

The Wellington U18s team is:
1 Moala Katoa (Scots College)
2 Manaaki Tiatia-Boyle (Scots College)
3 Stanley Paese (St Pats Silverstream College)
4 Tama Kapene (Scots College)
5 Mellennium Leota (Wellington College)
6 AJ Hart (St Pats Town College)
7 Alex Faifailoa (Wainuiomata High School)
8 Mitchell Stringer (Hutt Valley High School)
9 Misi Famalo (St Pat's Town college)
10 Malo Manuao (Scots College)
11 Caleb Cavubati (Scots College)
12 (Connor Fitzsimmons)
13 Tai Neli (Scots College)
14 Tominiko Maiava (Wellington College)
15 Jack Gray (Scots College)
16 Gabe Meredith (St Pats Town College)
17 Denzel Leota (Welllington College)
18 DJ Taoipu (Rongotai College)
19 Junior Uluese (Scots College)
20 Matiu Samuel (Rongotai College)
21 Kyle Preston (Tawa College)
22 Jason Tuitama (Rongotai College)

© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login