Rob Law Max Recruitment
ClubRugby Home National Story
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington

2018 Referee squads released

National Provincial Championship | 13 January 2018 | Club Rugby & NZRU

2018 Referee squads released

New Zealand Rugby’s High-Performance Referees’ National Squad has been released for the year ahead.

The New Zealand National Squad referees officiate at the Men's and Women's National Provincial Championship and Heartland Championship levels.

“Seeing the talent across our wider training group shows the pathway that is available for young referees in this country and we look forward to seeing what they achieve in 2018 and years to come,” said High-Performance Referee Manager Bryce Lawrence.

A Heartland Union has produced the only other new face in the National Squad with Damian McPherson from Poverty Bay also joining the ranks.

The former Poverty Bay forward took up the whistle in 2015 and last year refereed at the Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Final in Taupo.

McPherson is one of five referees from Heartland unions to be selected across the three squads.
“This goes to show it doesn’t matter where it is you are refereeing, these are all opportunities to be seen,” said Lawrence.

Former Black Fern Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush) and Natarsha Ganley (North Harbour) have become the first women selected.

2018 squads

Professional Squad
Nick Briant (Bay of Plenty)
Mike Fraser (Wellington)
Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Jamie Nutbrown (Canterbury)
Brendon Pickerill (North Harbour)
Ben O’Keeffe (Wellington)
Paul Williams (Taranaki)

National Squad (new appointments denoted by *):
Tipene Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)
James Doleman (Otago)
Natarsha Ganley (North Harbour)*
Tim Griffiths (Manawatu)
Nick Hogan (Wellington)
Richard Kelly (Taranaki)
Mike Lash (Tasman)
Damian McPherson (Poverty Bay)*
Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)*
Angus Mabey (Auckland)
James Munro (Canterbury)
Hugh Reed (Hawke’s Bay)
Cam Stone (Taranaki)
Michael Winter (Waikato)
Nick Webster (North Otago)

Wider Training Group:
Brittany Andrew (Manawatu)
Jamie Bell (Bay of Plenty)
Jono Bredin (Otago)
Maggie Cogger–Orr (Auckland)
Stuart Curran (Otago)
Sam Fellows (Bay of Plenty)
Karl Hancox (Canterbury)
Lauren Jenner (Counties Manukau)
William Johnston (Taranaki)
Louise Moore (Southland)
Chris Paul (South Canterbury)
Marcus Playle (Auckland)

© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login