Rob Law Max Recruitment: Proud to be supporting club rugby in Wellington in 2014
ClubRugby Home Wellington Profiles
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington
Club Profiles
Team Profiles
Referee Profiles
Author Profiles
Player, Coach & Manager Profiles
Step 1: Choose their club
Step 2: Choose the person
No photo available. Click here to send us your photo of this club or team.
Paremata-Plimmerton: Premier Reserve

Paremata-Plimmerton second XV.



Formed in 1959 and based on the edge of Porirua Harbour at Ngati Toa Domain Paremata-Plimmerton is Wellington’s northernmost club, and its newest Premier one.

As the name suggests, Pare-Plim (as its often shortened to) is an amalgamation of two clubs. Rugby had been played for some years following World War I in the area to the north of the Pauatahanui inlet, but it wasn’t until 1932 that the Plimmerton club was formed; basing themselves at what is now known as Plimmerton Domain between the rail line and the Taupo swamp and enjoying some moderate success in the junior grades in those early years before World War II erupted.

The Paremata club was formed in 1945, one of a clutch of clubs established post-war, and took up residence at Ngati Toa Domain as the site was being disassembled as a military camp. The new club adopted a variation of their neighbours playing strip – Plimmerton wore a grey jersey with a single blue hoop bracketed by a yellow one on each side, Paremata black with red and gold – and soon usurped them on the field as well. The two merged in 1959, adopting Paremata’s colours and home ground and the conjoined name, all of which remain today.

The club’s greatest achievement to date came in their 25th anniversary season of 1984. The year previous the club had won promotion from the third-tier to the Senior Second grade where they shared a three-way tie with both Petone and Wellington’s second sides for the Harper Lock Shield. That saw them contest the Hardham Cup, through which they secured promotion to the Swindale Shield and the Senior First ranks. They remained there for three seasons (1985-87) before being relegated twice in four years.

The fortunes since that time have ebbed and flowed, and often in the shadow of the Norths powerhouse just down the road. The past decade has seen an upturn with the senior side regular contenders in the old Senior 1 grade, and qualification for the Hardham Cup in 2014 provided the impetus to take on the challenge of a Premier place when the WRFU changed the entry criteria following that season. Results on the field haven’t been forthcoming so far, but they have regularly troubled some of the ‘name’ clubs.

Outside of their Premier team the club also fields the required Premier Reserve and Colts teams along with the Reserve grade Punters and their Presidents grade team. In 2017 the club re-established a women’s side which finished runners-up in Division Two, while the Colts won the first-round Division Two JDR Cup and with it promotion to Division One for the second-round. By playing numbers it is also the largest junior club in the region.

The club also holds two ‘firsts’ in Wellington rugby, having been the inaugural winners of the women’s Fleur’s Trophy in 1993, and the Under 85kg Paul Potiki Shield in 1995.

The club is currently embarking on an ambitious rebuilding of their facilities, with the renovation targeting for completion in 2021.

Results from games played:
Page 5 of 6 | Navigate: <Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next>
Date Competition Round Team 1 Score 1 Team 2 Score 2
2015-04-11 Harper Lock Shield 4 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 5 Wellington: Wellington Axemen ... 31
2015-04-04 Harper Lock Shield 3 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 12 Upper Hutt Rams: Upper Hutt Ra ... 38
2015-03-28 Harper Lock Shield 2 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 3 Wainui: Premier Reserve 21
2015-03-21 Harper Lock Shield 1 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 7 Tawa: Premier Reserve 74
2015-02-25 Harper Lock Shield 6 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 20 Norths: Premier Reserve 41
2008-06-07 National Mutual Cup 11 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 47 Wests: Senior 2 5
2008-05-31 National Mutual Cup 10 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 26 Norths: Norths First Grade A 12
2008-05-24 National Mutual Cup 9 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 14 OBU: OBU First Grade 16
2008-05-17 National Mutual Cup 8 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 0 Tawa: Tawa First Grade 0
2008-05-10 National Mutual Cup 7 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 43 J'ville: Premier Reserve 4
2008-05-03 National Mutual Cup 6 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 54 Petone: Petone Saxons 0
2008-04-26 National Mutual Cup 5 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 21 Marist St Pats: MSP First Grad ... 29
2008-04-19 National Mutual Cup 4 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 24 Poneke: Poneke First Grade 19
2008-04-12 National Mutual Cup 3 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 35 HOBM: HOBM Barbarians 12
2008-04-05 National Mutual Cup 2 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 5 Avalon: Premier Reserve 35
2008-03-29 National Mutual Cup 1 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 12 Wellington: The Axemen 20
2007-06-16 HD Morgan Memorial Prem Res 2 1 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 13 Wellington: The Axemen 17
2007-06-09 National Mutual Cup 11 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 13 Petone: Petone Saxons 15
2007-06-02 National Mutual Cup 10 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 27 Wests: Senior 2 17
2007-05-26 National Mutual Cup 9 Pare-Plim: Premier Reserve 15 Poneke: Poneke First Grade 27
© 2005-2016 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login