Rob Law Max Recruitment: Proud to be supporting club rugby in Wellington in 2014
ClubRugby Home Wellington Profiles
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington
Club Profiles
Team Profiles
Referee Profiles
Author Profiles
Player, Coach & Manager Profiles
Step 1: Choose their club
Step 2: Choose the person
Photo of Poneke: Premier. Is this an old photo? If so, click here to send us a new one.
Poneke: Premier

2012: The Poneke Premiers have a consistent recent record at the business end of Wellington club rugby seasons.

Despite winning it just once in modern times, they appeared in six of eight Jubilee Cup finals between 1999-2006 and five of seven that were contested at Westpac Stadium between 2000 and 2006. They sat in the stands for the next three years but returned to the final again in 2010. In 2011 they qualified for a home Jubilee Cup semi-final at Kilbirnie Park, losing to Norths.

2003's 26-22 win over Marist St. Pat's remains their sole victory in this time, offsetting losses to MSP in 1999 (at Athletic Park), Petone in 2000, MSP in 2001 and Norths in 2004, 2006 and 2010 (5-24).

Their previous win before 2003 was in 1996 when the Jubilee Cup was briefly re-branded as the Lion Brown Trophy. They also won their only Hardham Cup title the following year. Surprisingly, they have just one first round Swindale Shield championship behind them, winning that in 2002. They were in contention to win it in 2009 but once again finished runners-up, just three points adrift of champions Norths.

Established in 1883, Poneke is the second oldest club in Wellington behind the Wellington Football Club that was formed in 1870. Poneke celebrated its 125th Jubilee over Easter 2008.

Poneke has produced 19 All Blacks - plus Junior Tonu'u who made the All Blacks whilst playing for the Ponsonby club in Auckland. Six have been All Black captains, these are: TR (Thomas) Ellison, 1893; DR (David) Gage, 1893, 1896; FE (Frank) Mitchinson, 1907-08, 1910, 1913; JT (Jimmy) Tilyard, 1913,1920; B (Beet) Algar, 1920-21; JC (Jack) Griffith, 1934-36, 1938.

As well as All Blacks, there have been numerous other Poneke players to have worn New Zealand Juniors, New Zealand A, New Zealand Colts, New Zealand Maori, Samoan and PI and Vodafone Wellington Lions and Hurricanes jerseys. Their current Super 15 players are hooker Dane Coles, midfielder Charlie Ngatai and prop Reggie Goodes. Former Hutticanes and Tongan international Inoke Afeaki took over their coaching ranks in mid-2012.

Poneke has won or shared 20 Wellington Championships since winning the first ever Wellington Senior title contested in 1886, the Cobb and Co Trophy. They went on to win the Cobb and Co. Trophy a further three consecutive times and as was tradition back then were awarded it outright in 1889. The Trophy is now awarded to the club's Player of the Year.

The Jubilee Cup was first played for in 1929, with Poneke winning the first of seven Jubilee Cups three years later in 1932. Other wins were in 1943, 1944 (these two shared with Oriental) 1951, 1975, 1996 and 2003.

Poneke is a club where "you don't just play, you belong" and its culture is one where players, supporters and sponsors are treated as ‘Family'. The club has been a consistent performer in all grades over many years and this consistency comes from the ongoing provision of great facilities at Kilbirnie Park, coaching and player support.

For more visit their website:
Follow the club on Twitter on @ponekefc

Results from games played:
Page 13 of 15 | Navigate: <Prev 1...6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next>
Date Competition Round Team 1 Score 1 /\ Team 2 Score 2
2008-07-19 Jubilee Cup Premier 6 Poneke: Premier 18 Upper Hutt: Premier 5
2010-04-17 Swindale Shield 3 Poneke: Premier 40 Upper Hutt: Premier 26
2019-04-20 Swindale Shield 5 Poneke: Premier 21 Wainui: Premier 19
2008-03-19 Swindale Shield 4 Poneke: Premier 37 Wainui: Premier 12
2010-05-01 Swindale Shield 5 Poneke: Premier 20 Wainui: Premier 22
2016-03-25 Swindale Shield 1 Poneke: Premier 28 Wainui: Premier 26
2012-04-21 Swindale Shield 3 Poneke: Premier 5 Wainui: Premier 12
2013-07-20 Jubilee Cup Premier 7 Poneke: Premier 23 Wainui: Premier 33
2015-05-23 Swindale Shield 10 Poneke: Premier 26 Wainui: Premier 20
2017-04-01 Swindale Shield 3 Poneke: Premier 28 Wainui: Premier 39
2013-05-18 Swindale Shield 9 Poneke: Premier 25 Wainui: Premier 17
2011-06-18 Jubilee Cup Premier 2 Poneke: Premier 33 Wainui: Premier 18
2018-05-05 Swindale Shield 9 Poneke: Premier 26 Wainui: Premier 21
2014-05-03 Swindale Shield 7 Poneke: Premier 15 Wainui: Premier 27
2007-05-12 Swindale Shield 7 Poneke: Premier 51 Wainui: Premier 13
2009-06-06 Swindale Shield 11 Poneke: Premier 26 Wainui: Premier 19
2011-04-16 Swindale Shield 4 Poneke: Premier 16 Wainui: Premier 11
2016-07-23 Jubilee Cup Premier 7 Poneke: Premier 14 Wainui: Premier 16
2012-06-16 Hardham Cup Premier 2 1 Poneke: Premier 45 Wainui: Premier Reserve 0
2014-05-10 Swindale Shield 8 Poneke: Premier 21 Wellington: The Axemen 20
© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login