Rob Law Max Recruitment: Proud to be supporting club rugby in Wellington in 2014
ClubRugby Home Wellington Story
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington

Big day for schools and representative rugby tomorrow

Representative Rugby | 01 September 2017 | Club Rugby

Big day for schools and representative rugby tomorrow

Three Hurricanes schools finals and U18, U19, representative competition games and the first round of the Women’s NPC are all on the table tomorrow for Wellington teams.

Locally, there are three matches at Jerry Collins Stadium and Porirua Park tomorrow, starting at noon with the Wellington Pride hosting the Hawke’s Bay Tuis in the opening round of the Women’s NPC Farah Palmer Cup competition.

The Wellington Catholic Colleges kick off their Hurricanes U18 competition campaign on Porirua 2 against Horowhenua-Kapiti U18s at 1.00pm, while the Wellington U19s meet Manawatu U19s on JCS at 2.00pm.

In other first round Hurricanes U18s contests tomorrow, The Wellington Samoans Schools team plays Poverty Bay U18 in Gisborne in the curtain-raiser to the senior Heartland fixture between Poverty Bay and Horowhenua-Kapiti, the Wellington U18 Centurions play East Coast U18 in Tologa Bay and Wairarapa Bush U18 host the junior Wanganui Butcher Boys in Masterton.

The Wellington U19s host Manawatu in a virtual final of the Central Region Shield competition. Both teams have already qualified for the Top 8 section of the National U19 tournament starting in Taupo next Sunday, but whoever wins will be seeded higher and will play a lower-ranked quarter-finalist from another region in their first knockout match. The Hawke’s Bay U19s host the Hurricanes Heartland team in Napier in the other U19s match tomorrow.

In other away men’s matches tomorrow involving Wellington teams, Wellington Maori play Manawatu Development at Paihatua at 1.00pm and the Wellington Samoans play Hawke’s Bay Development at Napier at 2.45pm.

In women’s games, the Wellington Samoan Women play the Waikato Samoan Women at Hamilton at 1.00pm and the Wellington U18 Girls tackle their Taranaki counterparts in New Plymouth at 1.00pm.

There are three Wellington secondary school First XV teams in action in Palmerston North tomorrow.


First up on Arena Manawatu on the #2 field at 11.30am is the Hurricanes Girls final between St Mary’s College and Manukura. St Mary’s are raring to go after being idle since beating Aotea College 51-12 in the Wellington final two weeks ago after injuries prevented Feilding High from meeting in last weekend’s semi-final fixture, while Manukura beat Aotea 20-17 at the same stage. The winner of the St Mary’s-Manukura match will play Blues champions Southern Cross Campus next Friday in their first Top 4 game.

The Hurricanes Coed Cup final is between Porirua College and Feilding High School’s boys side and kicks off on the #3 field adjacent to the girls decider at noon.

Feilding High School have practically taken out a mortgage on the Hurricanes berth in recent years and will be favoured to do so again this year, with Porirua College the latest in a series of challengers from the capital looking to knock them off. Feilding saw off Wairarapa College 43-18 in Masterton, while Porirua went straight through after Wairoa College were unable to travel. After three weeks off, Porirua are at full strength, with powerhouse prop Solomona Logologo back from from injury. The winner will play the winner of the Blues final between last year’s Top 4 finalists Aorere College and Rangitoto College in the Top 4 semi-finals next Friday.

The Hurricanes Boys final is between St Pat’s Silverstream and Hastings Boys’ High School, scheduled for a 2.30pm kick-off inside the Stadium itself.

Hastings were pipped by Mount Albert Grammar in last year’s National Final, and that remains their only loss in the last two years. They rebounded from that draw with Hamilton to comprehensively dismantle an injury-depleted Wellington College 78-0 at home last week. Conversely Silverstream didn’t even make last year’s Wellington semi-finals, but this year’s side is one of the best in the school’s history, completing their first ‘clean-sweep’ of their traditional matches since 1988. They followed up their Wellington Premiership win by beating Palmerston North Boys 50-22 last Saturday. The winner is set to play either Saint Kentigern of Rosmini College in next week’s Top 4 semi-finals.

Wellington teams for tomorrow (as received):

St Pat’s Silverstream v Hastings Boys’ High School

1. Luke Mannx
2. Fredrick Sunia
3. Luke Chisholm
4. Neyla Maima
5. Iona Apineru
6. Teagan Harawira
7. Josh Southall
8. Toalima Anae-Laupola
9. Swayde Brightwell
10. Harrison Boyle
11. Chris Aumua
12. Kienan Higgins
13. Albert Polu
14. Scott Svenson
15. Todd Swevnson
16. Nick Apikotoa
17. Stan Paese
18. Aisea Mafileo
19. Mitchell Bull-Elvines
20. Waylon Tuhoro-Robinson
21. Demitir Perez
22. Riley Forbes

St Mary’s College v Manukura

1. Marianive Leota
2. Jayana Lau-Young
3. Laine Semu
4. Leni-Lia Moanau
5. Emma Brown
6. Damaris Samani
7. Renee Savai’inaea
8. Dhys Faleafaga
9. Ivana Samani
10. Cheyne Copeland
11. Riarna Vulu
12. Lomia Fa’amausili
13. Ana Pulieata
14. Katalina Tai
15. Olivia Aunoa
16. Tylah Tofilau
17. Nataliah Penese
18. Pepeloha Foua
19. Bianca Petelo
20. Valpiname Launiuvao
21. Aria Ngarimu
22. Malia Efaarimo-Leafe

Porirua College v Feilding High School

1. Solomona Logologo
2. Logan Ariu-Wolley
3. PJ Sheck
4. Kane Peniata
5. Jabez Peniata
6. Zekiel Ioane
7. Nash Kemp
8. Jamie Soapi
9. Rodney Roebeck
10. Eli Moataa
11. Pule Mamea
12. Junior Time Taotua
13. Nathanial Moafanua
14. James Solomona
15. Richard Nafatali
16. Taua Tonumaipe’a
17. Dion Turua-Pamatatau
18. Jared Tuifao
19. Miti Miti
20. Ontreal Arai Panapa
21. Ethan Moafanua
22. Arisi Sene-Lui

Centurions U18s v East Coast U18s

1. Tama Kirk
2. Kaitu Iaone
3. Tanara Haenga
4. Taine Plumtree (Captain)
5. Tama Kapene
6. Eparama Salio
7. Alex Faifailea
8. Mitch Stringer
9. Kyle Preston
10. Ish Perkins
11. Caleb Cavubati
12. Olly Paotonu
13. Connor Fitzsimmons
14. Sane Chut
15. Jack Gray
16. Tai Misa-Bryce
17. Taliauli Sina
18. Ben Strowger-Turnock
19. Olly Wrigley
20. Matiu Samuel
21. Maika Fifita
22. Elijah Tuigamala

Wellington Samoans U18s v East Coast U18s

1. Werdna Maligi (Scots College)
2. Manaaki Tiatia-Boyle (Scots College)
3. Josh Oloapu-Atoni (St Pat’s Town)
4. Shaquile Fiso (Rongotai College)
5. Jayden Tiatia (Wellington College)
6. Keelan Whitman (St Pat’s Town)
7. Adam Tone (Northern United)
8. DJ Taoipu (Rongotai College)
9. Misi Faimal (St Pat’s Town)
10. Malo Manuao (Scots College)
11. Herman Seumanufagai (St Pat’s Town)
12. Denzel Leota (Wellington College)
13. Jaylen Tuapola (Scots College)
14. Darius Patau (Bishop Viard College)
15. Jeremiah Lokeni (St Pat’s Town)
16. Gabe Meredith (St Pat’s Town)
17. Junior Uelese (Scots College)
18. Chester Palauni (Onslow College)

Wellington U19s v Manawatu U19s

1. Xavier Numia (Ories)
2. George Jacobs (Poneke)
3. Pasi Uluilakepa (Petone)
4. Eammon Carr (Johnsonville)
5. Angus Morton (Petone)
6. Jake Quin (Petone)
7. Naera Tipoki (C, OBU)
8. Willie Heather (Ories)
9. Regan Sword (MSP)
10. Esi Komaisavai (Vc, Norths)
11. Reuben Va'a (Ories)
12. Billy Proctor (MSP)
13. Jahzeel Marais (Poneke)
14.Roy Maiava (Para Plim)
15. Adam Clark (OBU)
16. Jacob Mua (Para Plim)
17. Ben Aumua Peseta (Tawa)
18. Meinrad Fitsemanu (MSP)
19. Callum James (Norths)
20. Chris Hicks (OBU)
21. Carlos Price (Petone)
22. Charlie Hoggard (OBU)
23. Grayson Whitman (MSP)

Latest Stories
Gains and Losses 2019
Steven White, 19 Mar 2019
School leavers to watch 2019
Adam Julian, 19 Mar 2019
Norths win 2019 National Club Sevens
Steven White, 12 Feb 2019
Support Our Partners
Advertise with Club Rugby
Advertise with Club Rugby
Advertise with Club Rugby
College RugbyAmateur Sports Association
Rugby Heartland New Zealand
Chainsaw Photos
© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login