Rob Law Max Recruitment: Proud to be supporting club rugby in Wellington in 2014
ClubRugby Home Wellington Story
Auckland Auckland Canterbury Hawke's Bay North Harbour Taranaki Wellington

Norths win 2019 National Club Sevens

Sevens Rugby | 12 February 2019 | Steven White

Wellington’s club sevens champions are now New Zealand title holders.

Northern United won the 2019 National Club Sevens tournament hosted by Eden Rugby club in Auckland this weekend, winning their maiden Middlesex County Wavell Wakefield Cup title.

Norths defeated 2013 champions and Auckland club Pakuranga 28-14 in the final.

Junior Time Taotua (2), Johnny Teleaga and Esi Komaisavai crossed the chalk for their four converted tries in the final.

Northern United – 2019 National club sevens champions. PHOTO CREDIT: Auckland Rugby Union Supporters’ Club 


Norths had defeated Bay of Plenty’s Te Puna 12-7 in their semi-final, after opening day two up with a 14-7 win over Counties Manukau’s Ardmore Marist.

Beaten finalists Pakuranga has beaten Northland’s Old Boys Marist 36-10 in their quarter-final and then knocked out fellow Aucklanders and defending champions Eden in their semi-final.

WATCH: Northern United perform a haka after winning, by the Auckland Rugby Supporters’ Club:

Norths came back from losing their opening encounter of the tournament on Saturday to win their second and third pool games as well as all three knockout matches on Sunday.

On Saturday they lost their opener to Te Puna – whom they beat to reach Sunday’s final – 10-26. They then beat Waikato’s Melville 21-10 and Marist North Harbour 15-10.

Norths finished second in their pool, to qualify for the top 8.

Pool play on Saturday was dynamic and competitive. Pakuranga, Te Puna and Eden were the three unbeaten teams on Saturday.

Norths are the second Wellington to win this tournament in the modern era, following Wainuiomata’s victory in 2015. Wainuiomata hosted the tournament the following year, which was won by Melville.

Norths will now host the tournament at Jerry Collins Stadium next year.

Counties Manukau’s Ardmore Marist won the Plate, Canterbury champions Marist Albion won the Bowl and Marist North Harbour took home the Shield.

Latest Stories
Gains and Losses 2019
Steven White, 19 Mar 2019
School leavers to watch 2019
Adam Julian, 19 Mar 2019
Norths win 2019 National Club Sevens
Steven White, 12 Feb 2019
Support Our Partners
Geeks on Wheels
Rob Law Max
Advertise with Club Rugby
College RugbyAmateur Sports Association
Rugby Heartland New Zealand
Chainsaw Photos
© 2005-2017 Club Rugby | About | Contact | Coach Login